A different way of “working” #LDWeek17 #TransformingCare #TransformingLives

Keith Jarvis, our Service Development Worker describes how PBS4 is changing the lives of people we employ:

DSC_04612.jpg

I would like to tell you about another side of PBS, a side that is sometimes forgotten, But is an important part of the support we offer.

That is the journey of our Enablement Assistants, as they see the effect of PBS working. How PBS4 not only changes the lives of the people we support but of the people giving the support.

I came to PBS4 from a care home, I had been in care for around 8 years when I started with PBS4. I came because it was a new company, with opportunities, but I also found that the company is not an in the box organisation.

As I started with the company, it was a little difficult to adjust to doing things the PBS4 way, thinking about the individual and shaping the day, around them and their needs, rather than the company.

As I have developed and progressed within the company, it has been amazing to see how the people we support have developed. I have seen and been part of services joining PBS4 and services progressing, to where the individuals needs have been enhanced so much that they have a staff reduction.

As part of the PBS4 management team, I have seen our Enablement Assistants develop with them, our culture of nurture, shaping, support and Training, means that our staff come to us with the solutions, come to us with a plan for something. They have the confidence to step outside the box, and challenge the system.

We are very privileged to have an amazing team of enablement assistants that work to improve the life of the individuals, in an individual way.

I for one am very grateful for the two way progress PBS4 has had on my life and my way of thinking.

This is LD week, and we celebrate the amazing achievements they have made, but I feel we also need to celebrate the individuals that have supported them to get there as well.

Leave a Reply

