My training #LDWeek17 #TransformingCare #TransformingLives

Ian is a man we support. He was involved in his teams induction training. Here is his feedback

IMG_1553What went well?

It was beneficial for me and the staff. I found it indicated to me that the staff needed a lot of training, which they got. Now I have the right staff and that’s why I’m getting on with them more.

Proact Scip was good for me and I can see it will help the staff to deal with situations. I love the way that the staff can direct you to places and it’s not like hospital where they just put you on the floor and hurt you. Jonathan taught everyone properly and there was one staff that didn’t take it seriously. The other staff took it seriously.

I loved being involved in the Proact Scip because in the hospital I wasn’t allowed to take part. I got a feeling that I was actually in control and the staff were in control. I feel like the moves that were taught would calm me down.

What did you not like?

I couldn’t concentrate for a long time. There was too much information for me.

I didn’t like to sit through the whole day. I know it was beneficial for me as well, but I can’t take in loads of information and I felt overwhelmed which is why I kept interrupting.

Ideas for next time?

Longer breaks. I would like it if my parents took me out for the day. Maybe they could stay for a little bit so they can hear, and I can go out in the afternoon with them because this is when I struggle.

I would like if staff took the information and put it into pictures because of my autism and my learning disabilities, I understand it more if it’s in pictures, even if it’s little figurines (cartoons) in the picture.

One thought on “My training #LDWeek17 #TransformingCare #TransformingLives

  1. Kim Jones says:

    when i read this.it was very inspirational .what a difference PBS4 can make .to everyone.

Leave a Reply

